Tags

, ,

DSC00026DSC00041

I love nail polish, this is a fact that many of my friends and family know. I have an overflowing shoe box of various colors. And up until a few weeks ago I was content with my collection and had successfully managed to not buy any polish, even when there was a sale at CVS. After having applied every single color I had, I was getting a bit bored.

I had very few colors in mind that I would want so I was really unsure about where I was going to go to get something new and exciting. Then one day Julep appeared on my Facebook page telling me to “become a Maven”, or something similar. I decided to look into it, read the directions: Take a survey. Get a style profile. Pay $20/month for a box of limited edition/exclusive products that come to your door.

Everything was simple and straightforward so I wasn’t sure what to expect, but I took the quiz anyway. They rated me a Bombshell: “A confident frill-seeker with magnetic appeal. You love bold, glam colors and anything that sparkles.” From that moment on I was hooked!

Contents:DSC00027

DSC00033

The welcome box comes with a promotional code, a small informational booklet on Julep’s merchandise, and a product sample. Specifically for the Bombshell package there are two polishes and one full sized product. The great thing about this set up is that you are only paying for the content, which is over $40 in value, shipping is free. As a Maven you receive 20% off of online purchases and you get first dibs on new items!

The sample from this month is a matte face primer, I haven’t tried it yet because I’m very particular about anything that I put on my face and skin in general. Mighty is a nail and cuticle serum to help promote strong and healthy nail grow, it’s too early to say whether or not I like this product.

Polish:DSC00089

The two colors are Zelda, described as a pink champagne metallic, and Kendra, described as an army green frost. Here in lies my critique, these colors are nothing like the descriptions nor what they appear to be online:

Screen Shot 2014-01-16 at 12.03.23 AM

The pink only comes out in stale white lighting, Zelda is gold, a beautiful gold, but gold nonetheless. And there is nothing frosty about this green. It seems as if these are computer images of how Julep would like for their polish to appear and not real time shots. It would be great if I could get the colors I was promised one day, but I am happy with the color and application (two coats max).

My advice, if you would like to know the exact color and shade of your polish Julep.com may not be the place for you. If you care about color more than shade, this may work for you. If you want high quality polish and just want a random assortment of colors, then this is perfect for you.

